Clubs

Clubs for the 2020-21 school year

 

Each year, students decide which clubs will be offered at WMS. This year clubs will operate a little different while we are in a distance learning model. Here is a slideshow explaining how to start a club, what forms are needed, and how to join a club. 

Club Information Slide Show

 

Click here for the application to start a club.

 

 

The listing of clubs including descriptions and meeting times are located below. Contact the advisor for more info and ZOOM links.

 

 

Dungeons and Dragons Club

In this club, students will play Dungeons and Dragons, a fantasy role-playing game. This will benefit WMS students by allowing them to extend their friend groups while playing in a fun, inclusive setting.

ZOOM Link: https://osd111.zoom.us/j/87481956749

Meets: Thursdays, from 3:15 to 4:15 -- First meeting- Thursday, Nov. 19th

Advisor: Mrs. Perry aperry@osd.wednet.edu


Spectrum Club

Spectrum is an inclusive environment for all students LGBTQIA+ and their friends. In the club, students will connect with each other, watch movies, play games, and just hang out!

Meets: Thursday, 11:00-12:00

Advisors:

Mrs. Evans levans@osd.wednet.edu

Ms. Savinski ksavinski@osd.wednet.edu

 

 

WHAM Book Club

 

Join us for the Winners, Honors, And Mentions Book Club (WHAM), where we read award winning novels, partake in intelligent conversation, and enjoy each others’ shared love of reading. Digital reading devices are available for students to use for this club.

Meets: Wednesday 10-11am 

Advisors:

Mr. Coyner mcoyner@osd.wednet.edu

Mrs. Gutierrez rogutierrez@osd.wednet.edu

Mrs. Montgomery cmontgomery@osd.wednet.edu


Art Club

All students are welcome to come make art with other students. Students can bring their ideas for art projects, then we'll discuss and pick a project based on whatever materials students have at home.

Meets: Monday 12:00-12:50pm

Advisor: Ms. Troyer ltroyer@osd.wednet.edu

 

 

Empower Club

 A club for students of color to: find power within their own identity and develop strategies to navigate sticky situations, increase their knowledge about social justice and contribute positively to their school community, build friendships and laugh at Ms. Arevalo’s jokes. 

 Meets: Thursday, 12-12:45pm

Advisors:

Ms. Arevalo carevalo@osd.wednet.edu

Mrs. Jarmon cjarmon@osd.wednet.edu

 

Yearbook Club

 This year there will not be a print yearbook.  However, we would like to start a club that can produce a digital version that will be available to everyone.  Not only will it use submitted images from students learning from home, but we will also encourage submissions of safe, outside activities.  Additionally, we will also work to have students submit videos of their distance learning experience and embed links into the digital documents.

Here is the link to the Yearbook submission page: https://sites.google.com/osd.wednet.edu/wmsyearbook2020-2021/

 Meets: Tuesday, 3-4pm

Advisor: Mr. Coyner mcoyner@osd.wednet.edu

Among Us Clubs

Join us to play the game Among Us. The clubs are where we will play the video game among us. These clubs will be a way for people to connect, which is hard right now. It also improves teamwork skills and problem solving.

 Ms. Arevalo Wednesday 2:45-3:45pm email csarevalo@osd.wednet.edu

 Mrs. Evans Tuesday 3-4pm email levans@osd.wednet.edu

 Ms. Clear Wednesday 1:30-2:30pm email aclear@osd.wednet.edu


 

Vibe & Game Central Club

This is a club for vibing and gaming. All you need is a computer to zoom and a gaming console/mobile device.

Meets: Wednesday 2:45-4:00pm

Advisor: Ms. Savinski ksavinski@osd.wednet.edu

 

 

Jellyfish Club

This will be a club for the study of jellyfish and we will learn as much as we possibly can about different types of jellyfish like the Turritopsis dohrnii or immortal jellyfish and then create a final project that will be interactive and fun and extremely educational.

Meets: TBD

Advisor: Ms. Burroughs cburroughs@osd.wednet.edu

 

Gaming Club

We play games and talk about games and teach tips. This would be more like a small community. We would talk on zoom and play multiple games as not to single out other people.

Meets: TBD

Advisor: Mr. Baranski jbaranski@osd.wednet.edu